How to Make Vector Outlines from PNG Image in Adobe Illustrator

If you work in Adobe Illustrator, you know how tedious it is to use the pen tool to manually trace your images for outlines. I’ve found a way to make vector outlines directly from your PNG image. This is great if you are trying to make stickers from your physical work, or just need an exact vector outline of your image.

Shop website: madeitmikayla.com
My Etsy Shop: madeitmikayla.etsy.com
Instagram: instagram.com/madeitmikayla

1. Make a Copy of Your PNG Image

Start off by making a copy of your image. Your original PNG that you are trying to outline should be on a layer under the copy. For this example, I will be using a PNG image of a flower I painted. Previously, I had made it into a PNG with a transparent background in Photoshop.

2. Image Trace

In the Properties panel, click image trace and use the option high fidelity photo to ensure the best quality.

3. Expand

Expand the copy of your PNG. It should create a bunch of small pieces that are selected like so.

4. Delete Background

Open up your layers and go all the way to the bottom of this group. Delete the last layer in this group; it is an empty background.

5. Unite with Pathfinder

Use the Pathfinder and click the first option unite to combine all these small pieces into one piece.

6. Create Strokes

Add a stroke to the piece. It will make a bunch of jagged edges, but we will fix this. For my example, I used a 20pt stroke, but it will depend on the size of your canvas, the size of your outline piece, and your personal preference.

7. Make Strokes Rounded

Under the strokes panel, there are different options for your stroke. Make the stroke round by selecting the middle options under the Stroke panel, as shown in the image.

8. Expand

Expand again.

9. Unite with Pathfinder

Use the Pathfinder again to unite all the pieces. Here, you can also change the color of the outline and arrange the outline to be underneath the original PNG layer.

10. Simplify Stroke

Lastly, simplify the outline so that you have a small number of points while still keeping the shape of the outline.

11. Done!

Yay, you’re done! Here is the final result!

I hope this was helpful in any way you need to use it! If you have another way to do this that is easier, let me know in the comments!

Shop website: madeitmikayla.com
Instagram: @madeitmikayla
YouTube: @madeitmikayla

4 responses to “How to Make Vector Outlines from PNG Image in Adobe Illustrator”

  1. Excellent walkthrough on something I was struggling with. Very much appreciate people like you who take their time to explain things like this that I would never be able to teach myself to do!

    Like

    1. Thank you Wyatt for your comment! I’m glad that you enjoyed it and that I could help! (p.s. sorry I didn’t see this until now, I’ve moved my website to madeitmikayla.com now)

      Like

  2. I can’t get this to work because the step that says go all the way to the end of the layers and delete a blank background is not there. I have a single background that is the png. I duplicate it (now I have two layers) I choose that new copy and choose image trace ( I still only have two layers) It makes the bottom layer all all blobby. Still only have 2 layers – at which point you say to scroll all the way to the end and delete the blank layer. Again – there is currently only 2 layers. So I do the only option I can – I select my original png on top and the duplicated image traced png and select unit and it does nothing. I get a prompt ( The filter produced no results. Please select two over lapping paths.)

    What am I missing?

    Like

    1. Hi Darryl, it may be on the same layer but within groups in that layer (Illustrator has layers different than Photoshop). Step 4 shows the background at the bottom of the group. If you don’t have the empty background at the bottom of the group then maybe you can skip this step? If you need more help, feel free to email me screenshots so I can see how I can help more (email: madeitmikayla@gmail.com) Also sorry for the delayed response, I’ve moved my website to madeitmikayla.com so I don’t check this one as often if at all.

      Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.